The Pillars Of Democracy

The Pillars Of Democracy

The Pillars Of Democracy stands on three foundations – the Executive, the Judicial and the Legislature.

In order to function properly, all three should be exclusive and not confrontational, but co-active, while each maintains its identity and function.

The Legislature formulates Laws, the Executive implements them and the Judiciary intervenes when either of the other two is seen to be in default.

The Three Pillars Of Democracy In Nigeria


Legislature can technically said to be the  lawmaking branch of a government. Before the advent of legislatures, the law was dictated by monarchs.

Early European legislatures include the English Parliament and the Icelandic Althing (founded c. 930).

The Pillars Of Democracy

Legislatures may be unicameral or bicameral. Legislative powers might include passing laws, establishing a government budget, authorizing presidential appointments, ratifying agreements, investigating the executive branch, condemning or dismissing members of the executive and judicial branches, and redressing grievances from constituents.

Members may be appointed or directly or indirectly elected; they may represent an entire population, particular groups, or territorial subdistricts.

In presidential systems, the executive and legislative branches are clearly separated; in parliamentary systems, members of the executive branch are chosen from the legislative membership.


The Executive Branch is steered by the President, who must be a smooth-born resident, at least 35 years of age, and a resident of the country for at least 14 years.

The President shall be elected indirectly by the people through the electoral college system for a term of four years and shall be limited by the Twenty-Second Amendment (1951) to two elected terms of office.

The president’s official residence and office is the White House, located at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue N.W. in Washington, D.C.

The formal constitutional responsibilities vested in the presidency of the United States include serving as commander in chief of the armed forces; negotiating treaties; appointing federal judges, ambassadors, and cabinet officials; and acting as head of state.